DEEP MEMORIES is Douglas Martins - All Instruments and Vocals

One man... Many Feelings... This phrase synthesizes the band Deep Memories.

Formed in 2016 by multi-instrumentalist and producer Douglas Martins, the band Deep Memories has had an exponential rise, consolidating itself as one of the main names in Brazilian Melodic Death-Doom Metal due to its sonority originality and its melodic complexity - songs with heaviness, mixing aggression and beautiful guitar duets, well-matched keyboards and screamed, guttural and clean vocals. All stuff created by Deep Memories also be highlighted itself because all instruments and vocals are performed and produced by Douglas.

Douglas Martins was born in Americana, São Paulo and is an old acquaintance of the Brazilian metal scene. Between 1996 and 2005 he was part of the band Desdominus (Melodic Death/Black Metal) as guitarist and vocalist and also was part of the line-up that recording the very 1st album “Without Domain” released in 2003.

After a hiatus in his musical career, Douglas Martins returned with Deep Memories through the release of an EP by the Brazilian record label Heavy Metal Rock. This EP with two songs entitled “In Too Deep...” brought great visibility to the band, making it possible to sign contracts for a worldwide release of its debut album.

In September 2018, its first full-length album “Rebuilding the Future” was released on CD simultaneously in Brazil, Japan and Russia and also in all digital platforms. The album caused a very positive impression, receiving praise and high ratings of the specialized press. Heavy Metal Rock and Misanthropic Records released the CD in Brazil; in Russia GS Productions and in Japan Invasion of Solitude Records (Japan Version had an alternative cover and OBI). After these releases many Brazilian headbangers have come to consider “Rebuilding the Future” a classic in Brazilian Doom Metal history.

In June 2019, Deep Memories participated in a DVD compilation “Imperative Music Compilation Vol#16” alongside bands such as Belphegor, Vader and Suffocation.

“Rebuilding the Future” had such a strong impact on the metal scene that it was re-released on 12-inch vinyl in February 2020 through the Brazilian labels Neves Records and Heavy Metal Rock with a limited print run of 300 copies including vinyl discs in black and blue with an exclusive cover and graphic art.

In September 2022 Deep Memories released on CD and on all digital platforms their second album entitled “Why Do We Suffer?”. Just like its debut album, this new stuff was also played, produced, recorded and mastered by Douglas Martins in his studio “AJM Studio” located in Americana, his hometown. The entire process happened between the years 2020 and 2022.

With an above average heaviness and even more atmospheric incursions, this new album embodies the traditional styles of Doom and Death Metal but with a melodic and absolutely contemporary characteristics. The blackened air of Black Metal highlighted the songs, which also have gothic nuances, sometimes sounding like extreme progressive metal. In all, there are 7 songs totaling 41 minutes of recording.

A creative evolution can clearly be heard in “Why Do We Suffer?” songs. The compositions are more complex and captivating with aggressive vocals that quickly migrate to a beautiful melodic line of voices or to the melancholy coldness of gloomy narrations. Its recording and production are more organic and professional, with a special emphasis on guitars heaviness and the ambience of the keyboards.

The album artwork was created by Iranian graphic artist (she/her) Agreen Paymazd and Douglas Martins. The cover illustrates the emotional charge generated by human suffering. This approach guided the entire theme of the lyrics surrounded by a high degree of introspection, leading us to reflect on the fragility of human existence when facing the challenges of life on planet earth.

For “Why Do We Suffer?” album release, two lyric videos was developed for the songs “Please, do not close the Coffin!” and "Uncontrolled Cells Multiplication" both was created by Wanderley Perna from W Designer. A video clip for the title album song "Why Do We Suffer?" was recorded and directed by Claudio Cestare Jr. from Last Mosh Filmes. For the CD version release, Douglas Martins signed an exclusive contract with the Brazilian label Heavy Metal Rock, which had previously released “Rebuilding the Future” on CD and Vinyl.


In April, 2023 Douglas Martins invited great brazilian musicians to joint Deep Memories and they debuted live alongside Moonspell (Portugal). So now, Deep Memories Line up is: Ney Paulino - Drums (Desdominus, Wtihbood), Rodrigo Pereira - Guitars, (Desdominus, Ex. Bloody) and Adriano Justino - Bass (Desdominus, Mortage, Warmoured, Ex. Brutal Hate) and Douglas Martins - Guitar and Vocals.



More info: